What Romance Novel Covers Say About the Genre

I’ve been looking at a lot of romance book covers lately, searching for inspiration for the cover of my own erotic romance Goddess. I don’t mind half-naked men with rippling abs, but after awhile the covers run together in a big, bland mush. I find the same to be true with covers for most of the other romance sub-genres: flowery fonts, impossibly beautiful, scantily clad women, high heels, monochromatic shots of jewelry and bondage restraints. It’s all dull, dull, dull IMHO.

dark-fantasies-book-cover

Unfortunately, too often I find that these covers are just a reflection of the dull writing inside. I’m not saying that I haven’t read a few good romance novels lately, but they seem to be a very slim minority of the ones published today.

Romance desperately needs a breakout novel that features exemplary writing and turns the genre’s conventions on their ends. 50 Shades may have given erotic romance a lot of press, but it did nothing to improve the genre’s status in the literary world or for the general public.

Which leads me back to Goddess’s cover. As a debut novelist, I’m torn between wanting to be offer a cover that’s beautiful and unique, and wanting to identify it as a romance for potential readers. I have a lot more research to do.

Are there romance covers that you love? Is the writing in the book worthy of them?

Best Wishes,

Kelee

One thought on “What Romance Novel Covers Say About the Genre

Leave a Reply

