The Joys of DIY Marketing

I’ve barely written a new word of prose in the last two weeks. Perhaps that’s a poor way for a writer to be spending precious time, but for the most part I don’t mind. My first novel Goddess will be released one month from today and I’ve been very busy organizing a blog tour and soliciting advance reviews.

Now, I must admit that my DIY skills aren’t always top notch. I’m diligent but lean towards disorganization. If I take apart an appliance to fix, I invariably lose a screw or two.

But while I’ve learned that DIY book marketing is hard work, and sometimes my Excel file that tracks my contacts looks like an accountant’s version of hell, I’ve found this to be a wonderful learning experience.

I’m fairly new to the blogging universe. While I occasionally read and followed blogs in the past, it was never a substantial part of my reading time. But now I’m spending many hours exploring blogs and discovering what other writers and bookworms are sharing. It’s fascinating. There are a lot of good blogs out there. I’m envious and appreciative of the time bloggers take to connect with the world and share their passions.

But the best thing about my DIY efforts is the relationships I’ve begun to build. If I hired an outside marketer to set up my blog tour, I would never be meeting so many warm, kind people. Forget about the way fictional writers are portrayed. I find almost all independent authors to be generous and helpful. Plus, their posts about marketing oneself as an independent writer have taught me so much.

I don’t know if Goddess will sell even one copy, but i know I will be a wiser person for this whole experience.

Now, back to the blogs. I’ve got more work to do!

Best Wishes,

Kelee

Leave a Reply

