The Liebster Award

The Liebster award is an online award given to new bloggers or those with less than 200 followers by other bloggers- it’s all about providing support and encouragement and increasing exposure.

‘Liebster’ in German apparently means ‘sweetest, kindest, nicest, dearest, beloved, lovely, kind, pleasant, valued, cute, endearing, and welcome’ and is the ideal name for an award that allows baby bloggers to share the love.

I have to admit, I’ve been a bit dubious of these blog awards in the past because there are so many of them. But it does seem like a good way to pay it forward and help other bloggers, so here I go.

I was nominated for the Liebster by writer, juggler and “occasional lion tamer” Ellie Holmes (ellieholmesauthor.wordpress.com).  Ellie writers commercial women’s fiction and romantic suspense. Her novel The Flower Seller was chosen as an August Monthly Deal on Amazon UK. Ellie gets her inspiration from “the beautiful Essex countryside and the sublime Cornish coast”, a landscape that has inspired me too.

4625659388

Ellie also has a powerful personal narrative that has shaped her writing. “I was diagnosed with Hodgkins Lymphoma some years ago,” she writes. “The day after I received the news my Dad died (he didn’t know about my diagnosis. We had kept it from him). Life as I had known it imploded. Cancer batters you emotionally, physically and mentally. On the good days it’s one of those things, on the bad days it’s all three. Cancer also forces you to re-evaluate. I carried out a life audit and as a result I am a different person today than I was then.”

The Liebster Award has been going since 2011 and the rules have evolved over time. The official rules of The Liebster Award 2016, if your blog has been nominated and you have chosen to accept it, are below:

  • Thank the person who nominated you, and post a link to their blog on your blog. Try to include a little promotion for the person who nominated you.
  • Display the award on your blog — by including it in your post and/or displaying it using a “widget” or a “gadget”.  Images you can use for your 2016 Liebster Award can be found at http://theglobalaussie.com/the-official-rules-of-the-liebster-award-2016/ .
  • List these rules in your post.
  • Answer your nominator’s questions.
  • Give 10 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 5 – 11 blogs that you feel deserve the award, who have a less than 200 followers.
  • Create 11 questions for your own nominees to answer.
  • Once you have written and published it, you then have to: Inform the people/blogs that you nominated that they have been nominated for the Liebster award and provide a link for them to your post so that they can learn about it.

Here are my answers to Ellie’s questions:

1. Why did you decide to start your blog?

I originally started it to promote my books, but it’s become an enjoyable task in its own right. I especially like offering tips to other writers, and promoting books and authors I love.

2.What is the hardest thing about maintaining a blog?

Just finding the time. I try to publish once per week, but it’s not easy when there are so many other things going on in my life. Sometimes I feel like the heroine in part two of my trilogy Goddess, trying to juggle children, graduate school, and a lover. I guess the blog is my lover.

3. What’s the best thing about blogging?

Connecting with other writers. Writing can be very isolating. It’s great to share with like-minded people.

4. What are your top tips for someone just starting a blog?

Keep at it. Try to post often and read and comment on other blogs. That’s how you build community and get followers.

5. What’s the best piece of advice you have ever been given and did you follow it?

Uh, don’t play Pokemon Go while driving? Seriously, I should have moved to LA when I first became a screenwriter. On the other hand, if I had I might be plying a very different trade on Sunset Strip now.

6. What are you passionate about?

My children, cycling, the outdoors, environmental causes, coffee, politics (unfortunately), alt country music.

7. How would you spend a ‘perfect’ day?

A delicious cup of coffee followed by a really great day of writing, then accepting the Nobel Prize for literature that evening.

8. Do you ever suffer with writer’s block and if you do, how do you get over it?

Not really, but I often do a lot of bad writing. But I get over it by continuing until the writing becomes good again.

9. Who is/are your favourite author(s)?

Dead: Thomas Hardy, the most romantic writer I know.

Living: Karen Russell. I love her skill with language and her imaginative stories and characters.

10. Where do you hope to be in five years’ time?

Right here with 1000’s of followers and a lot more book sales.

11. What’s your favourite waste of time?

Watching trashy 80s TV. My favorite these days is The A Team.

Ten Random Facts About Myself

  1. I take my coffee with milk.
  2. I have great legs.
  3. I love summer.
  4. I have two beautiful daughters.
  5. I wanted to be a rock star but can’t sing.
  6. I have a greyhound.
  7. I grew up in Indiana.
  8. Vermont is my favorite state.
  9. I love thunderstorms.
  10. I make a lot of to-do lists.

My Nominations

C.L Hodgson (clhodgson.wordpress.com)

Naylene Rondon (naylenerondon.wordpress.com)

Melanie Moxon (melaniemoxon.wordpress.com)

Mercedes Fox (mercedesfoxbooks.com)

Questions for my nominees

  1. Why did you start your blog?
  2. If you could live anywhere in the world, where would you choose?
  3. Are you spring, summer, fall, or winter?
  4. What are you passionate about?
  5. If you could change one thing about yourself, what would it be?
  6. Who are your favorite authors?
  7. What advice would  you give to aspiring writers?
  8. Cats or dogs?
  9. If you could go back in time and mentor your sixteen-year-old self, what would you tell her?
  10. Where would you like to be five years from now?
  11. What’s under your bed?

And don’t forget the 10 random facts about yourself!

One thought on “The Liebster Award

Leave a Reply

