What Do I Write Next?

I rarely suffer from a lack of creative ideas. My problem is trying to decide what to write next. This usually begins when I’m in the midst of my current book or screenplay. What started out as an exciting premise or character starts to bog down in the details. Instead of writing, I find myself staring wistfully out the window, thinking of all my other story ideas. When they’re still an etherial part of my imagination, those ideas seem so perfect. They could practically write themselves. Perhaps I should write one of them next, I muse. Or perhaps I should even put aside my current manuscript. I could take a break, write something else. Maybe my current project will be easier when I return to it.

But then my rational mind takes over… usually. I know I’ll face just as many challenges with my new idea as soon as it starts to take shape. If I don’t finish my current book, I may never get back to it. I need to focus and recommit myself to my present course. I’ll let the new idea gestate in my mind as I fall asleep at night. If it’s good, it will take root.  It will get better. Or maybe not. Perhaps a week or month from now, I won’t be so enamored with my new literary paramour. Then I’ll move on to my next idea.

Best wishes,

Kelee

Leave a Reply

