Special Guest Post: Author Dianne Duvall

I’m pleased to welcome New York Times bestselling author Dianne Duvall (A Sorceress of His OwnPhantom Embrace) to my blog today. Dianne is on tour promoting her second novel set in the Gifted Ones world, Rendezvous With YesterdayThe book will be released October 17. If you preorder it, you can win some awesome prizes. Just fill out this form. Go to Dianne’s website for more details.

I asked Dianne how she goes about the always difficult challenge of blending genres. (In Rendezvous‘s case, romance, fantasy and action.) Welcome, Dianne!

image_author_dd

Dianne Duvall

Thank you, Kelee, for letting me visit and for helping me celebrate the upcoming release of RENDEZVOUS WITH YESTERDAY.   And thank you, readers, for joining us.

One thing I have always liked about the romance genre is that it contains all of the other fiction genres as subgenres. (This, by the way, is something I frequently point out whenever someone tries to look down his or her nose at romance, because no other fiction genre can make that claim.) And romance has expanded so much in recent years that even its subgenres have subgenres now. This gives writers the exhilarating freedom to weave multiple genres together in their tales in whatever combination they desire. So how can they do this with success?

My answer, I fear, is not very groundbreaking. I think if a writer loves the genres she or he combines, blending them together is something that will just come naturally. I have always loved the romance genre. I loved it when I was a child and sighed over the happily-ever-afters in Disney movies. I loved it when I discovered young adult romance novels. And graduating to adult romance novels just solidified my addiction.

But I also can never resist a good (or bad, or even a so-bad-it’s-good) horror movie. Old. New. Big budget. Low budget. It doesn’t matter. I’ll give just about any horror movie a chance. And action-packed films are no different. So it’s only natural that some of the elements I love so much in horror and action films always manage to work their way into my novels and novellas.

It may surprise some to learn that when I sat down to write A SORCERESS OF HIS OWN, the first book in The Gifted Ones series, I actually intended to write a traditional medieval romance novel. But my love of fantasy, the paranormal, and action wound its way into the pages until the romance between the hero and heroine grew amidst action-packed battles and the shadows spawned by a despicable enemy. It was the same with my time travel romance RENDEZVOUS WITH YESTERDAY, but Bethany’s bold, teasing nature and lively sense of humor enabled me to throw more comedy into the mix. And in my Immortal Guardians books, my love of horror tends to creep in a bit more, adding a darkness that provides a nice contrast to what readers often call the laugh-out-loud moments.

If anything, the challenge of combining multiple genres—like romance, fantasy and action—is finding the right balance. Too many action scenes can leave little room for the development of the romance and disappoint readers who really wanted to watch the hero and heroine get to know each other and fall in love. And too few action scenes may bore readers who are less interested in the romance and more interested in high-octane battle scenes. (Not interested in the romance? What? Tell me it isn’t so!) But a balance can be found. And when it is, the resulting story will give readers an entertaining and exhilarating ride. J

So what genres do you like to see combined in your romance novels? I’d love to hear some of your favorites.dianneduvall_rendezvousteaser_imagine

 

7 thoughts on “Special Guest Post: Author Dianne Duvall

  1. What a wonderful post, and I can’t wait for your readers to be able to pick up Rendezvous With Yesterday on October 17th! Thank you for hosting Dianne today and happy reading! ☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

